HItching a lift on a famous boat.

   I wanted to hitch a ride on a boat going from Antigua down southwards to Dominica. That meant hanging round the dock area of St John’s but after a few days, I drew lucky. Sheltering from a tropical storm under an overhanging roof, I shared the space with JoJo who thought he knew a boat going down.

“You know the name of the skipper,” I asked. “Or the owner?”

He didn’t. His mind was on other things.

“You takin a lover while you here,” he asked casually.

“No.”

“No?” He seemed astounded.

“No.”

“OK. Just askin’.”

“ That’s alright…so you don’t know about this boat?”

“You married?”

“Yes”. I resurrected Ian regularly on these occasions. “Are you?”

He was affronted. “I not married. Not ready yet…Why you not takin’ a lover?”

“Not ready yet,” I said. He’d walked into his own web.

“Anyway, this boat. You don’t know anything at all about it?”

” It take doors, windows, sheets of metal, that sort of thing.”

“Anything else?”

He shook his head: “Know its name just.”

“Oh, you do? What is it so?”

“The Danny Boy.”

“The Danny Boy?” This was my boat. It had my name on it.

“Yeah,” said JoJo. “It’s a famous song.”

“ I know,” I said. “I come from Ireland.”

JoJo looked puzzled. “What about Ireland?” he asked.

“Well, that’s what makes it famous.It’s an Irish song.”

JoJo shook his head.”Don’t know nothin’ about that. Danny Boy famous because Harry Belafonte sing it.”

 

From my book Journeys of a Lifetime. http://www.maryrussell.info

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “HItching a lift on a famous boat.

  1. nice scene. delicious conversation.

Leave a Reply

